Award Winners

OAGEE has 3 awards that are given out when deemed appropriate by OAGEE Council. These awards are:

  1. Award of Merit:

        The OAGEE Award of Merit recognizes outstanding support of Geography Education for those in Business, Government or Industry.

                          Award of Merit                

                                 2016:  Nigel Day &  Mike Mathews MTO      

                                 2002: Erin Kelly (ESRI)

                                 2001: Joel Yan (Statistics Can.)

                                 1999: Chris North (ESRI)

                                 1991: Bruce Campbell(ON Mining Assoc.)   Ed Freeman (ON Dept. of Mines)                                                                      

    2. Award of Distinction:

     The OAGEE Award of Distinction recognizes an outstanding contribution by an educator  in advancing , promoting, and improving the quality of geography education in the Province of Ontario” 

Award of Distinction                               

2018: Kim Wallace                                      

2017: Paul VanZant                             

2015: Anne (Smith)Mansfield                

2014: Mark Lowry

2011: Randy Wilkie                                

2010: Richard Grignon                                                                                                

2009: Wayne Andrew                                                                                                                                                   

2008: Sue Hotte

2006: Mike Ball

2005: Gerry Bell

2004: Doug Koegler

2003: Mark Oliver

2001: Lew French

1999: Trishia Healy & George Thompson

1997: Doug Macleod (Special Award of Appreciation)

1995: Spencer Parker

1994?: Cliff Oliver

1993: Ralph Kruger & Una Elliott

1992: Bob Goddard & Doug Macleod

1991: Herb Augustine

1988: Don Revell & Jim Forrester

1987: Chuck Langman & Len Swatridge

1986: Walter Kemball & Dick Mansfield


     3.Lifetime Achievement Award:

The  Lifetime Achievement Award, recognizes those individuals who have gone “above and beyond” with their commitment to the work of OAGEE over the course of their careers. 

2019: Gary Birchall, Linda Gollick, Lew French, Randy Wilkie

#OAGEE19 Fall Conference

2019 Lifetime Achievement Award winners. L-R  Gary Birchall, Linda Gollick, Lew French, Randy Wilkie

This award which is only given out on rare occasions, could not have been given to more deserving people. Thanks for all your friendship, support and guidance over the past 30 years plus!!

OAGEE Lifetime Members

* Jim Smythe

* Dick Kennedy 

* Bill Hindebrand

* Walter Tovell

* Ed Pleva

* Paul Thomas

* Arch Carnahan

* Dene Webber

* Doug Macleod 

* Dickson Mansfield


***Please note: We apologize for any any errors or omissions which may exist in these lists. To the best of our knowledge this information is correct.  Please email with any questions or concerns. 





%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close